Thursday, May 15, 2014

Calinda B's The Beckoning Series Hop


SERIES SPOTLIGHT INFO:  The Beckoning Series:
The Beckoning of Beguiling Things
The Beckoning Series, prequel


Can 24 hours really change your life? Marissa Engles is about to find out. When she heads to Las Vegas with her sisters and her best friend, she meets sexy, Thunder from Down Under dancer Chris King and hits the jackpot, in more ways than one.

A secret magical society, The Numina, is planning to influence big change in her through her interplay with King. An evil sorcerer is hell bent on preventing the exchange. A powerful male is watching her from the sidelines, making his agenda known. And King himself has a dark secret that may prove Marissa’s undoing. When all these worlds collide in one night, Marissa must choose the outcome – play it safe and walk away from heartbreak, or ignite a maelstrom of passion, mystery and transformation based on a one night stand? Everything hinges on whether she’s willing to leap without looking…



The Beckoning of Beautiful Things
The Beckoning Series, Book I


It's Marissa Engles birthday and she's ready for change - big time. What's she looking for? Sexy, sexy, sexy, is the first thing that comes to mind. Ever since her parents died eleven years ago, completely derailing her life course, Marissa Engles has hidden inside her creativity, using her artistic expression to escape the world. It's her only island of safety from an upbringing filled with lies and deceit. What's she looking for? Sexy, sexy, sexy, is the first thing that comes to mind. Memories of magic and strange, supernatural abilities haunt her. Yearnings of excitement and passion compel her.


Sexy she wants, sexy she gets. When she meets Daniel Navid, sparks fly – literally – from her fingers to his. Daniel awakens her psychic, telepathic abilities, using them to teach her that she's far more than she ever dreamed. As her powers awaken, she’s slowly swept from her safe world into one of suspense and terror, dazzling, electrifying light, and unimaginable sensual pleasures.


With her faithful Doberman by her side, Marissa uses her creative imagination to restore her skills as a Light Rebel. As her metamorphosis continues, a world of both horror and breathtaking radiance is revealed to her. Her ultimate challenge comes through confronting pure evil - the demented sorcerer known as El Demonio de la Muerte - and through the passionate, transformation she experiences with Daniel Navid, the most powerful man alive.




The Beckoning of Broken Things
The Beckoning Series, Book II


In The Beckoning of Broken Things, the second book in The Beckoning Series, bestselling author Calinda B explores suspenseful darkness laced with steaming hot passion and metaphysical discovery as Marissa Engles fights her way to her truth. Through her terrifying journey, she encounters demons and devils galore as she navigates the crazy world of Warplandia, a place of shadows and mysteries, and embraces her new reality as a wealthy woman possessing extraordinary abilities living in Brazil.

Is Marissa Engles crazy? Or is she a paranormal Light Rebel who can shape form and manifest things using the electricity buzzing through her veins? Her aunt and sister think "Crazy." The locked mental facility they've put her in thinks "Delusional."

She's so drugged up, she can't tell if they're right. She only knows she's got to get free of the mental hospital. She has to find her missing soul bound lover, Daniel Navid, who commands the darkest of the dark. Only her new pal, Rafe Caldwell, another mental patient "inmate" with more than a few dark secrets of his own, thinks she is what she says she is. And he intends to find out more - lots more. Together they embark on a journey of suspense, intrigue, magic and mayhem that takes them into paranormal worlds Marissa could not have imagined.

Reviewers say: "The steam, the intrigue, the characters, the innovative powers and how they're cosmically connected...so much better than most ordinary "powers" that supernatural beings have in paranormal romance novels." 

"...there are some huge plot twists and things that you'd never expect to have happen do. I had tears at the end!!! Will there be more?" 

"Calinda B pulls you right into the believable-fantasy world (which is hard to do), and doesn't hold back any punches."



The Beckoning of BadAss Things
The Beckoning Series, Book III


Choices, choices…should Marissa Engles choose the Night Numen, her soul bound deadly lover who walks among demons and commands the darkness, or the Stealth Numen, the trained assassin who slips between her world and the Shadowlands? They’re yummy lovers and alpha males, the baddest of the bad. She shares a potent, psychic, mind to mind connection with the Night Numen. The Stealth Numen makes her feel like a teenager. So they could just as easily kill her in a heartbeat? They both love her, right? These are the thoughts that occupy her waking hours. 


Meanwhile, she’s training to go on a deadly, suspense-filled, dangerous journey in a place where Earth rules don’t apply. She needs to find the three sisters who forged her sword, and retrieve a piece of her soul. No-one has lived to tell about. She’s extremely powerful but still hasn’t attained mastery of her skills. She hopes she’ll be able to pull it together when it counts. 


Just when she thinks she’s made progress, another alpha male drops into her world, challenging her assumptions about love. Will she make the right choice? And what about the ruthless sorcerer who wants to thwart her at every turn? Suspense, mystery, challenges, sizzling encounters and endless opportunities are ahead when Marissa faces The Beckoning of BadAss Things. 





ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
An award-winning web designer and certified SEO specialist, Calinda B has worked in the Internet industry as a web page designer/developer since the early 1990's. She has also taught web site design and computer graphics at community colleges in Northern California. In addition to writing, Calinda B creates fine art and music, and enjoys scuba diving, kayaking, and bike riding. Calinda B makes her home in the Pacific Northwest with the love of her life and her two cats. She is currently working on the fourth book in The Wicked Series, tentatively entitled A Wicked Ending, or the third book in The Beckoning Series or maybe those are done and she's working on.... She loves to write and does it daily.



TOUR GIVEAWAY:
GRAND PRIZE:  $20.00 gift card to Amazon
RUNNERS-UP:  Two (2) runners-up will receive an eBook (one will get an eBook of THE BECKONING OF BEAUTIFUL THINGS and the other will get an eBook of THE BECKONING OF BROKEN THINGS)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Kerry J. Donovan's THE TRANSITION OF JOHNNY SWIFT Book Blast




THE TRANSITION OF JOHNNY SWIFT
AUTHOR NAME:  Kerry J Donovan


THE TRANSITION OF JOHNNY SWIFT is the story of one young man's fight to save his family from a threat nobody else can see or understand.
Frank Brazier—the book's lead character and narrator—is a successful racing driver a single step away from the big time. After a night celebrating a win, he takes the train to London with his sister, Paula. The train derails and sends Frank into a hellish world of pain and confusion.
Three days later, Frank wakes in hospital with horrific injuries. Blind in one eye, suffering intense migraines, he can barely move. Worse still, he hears impossible voices that cannot exist.
In the next room, Paula is on life support. The doctors say she’s dead. They want to pull the plug on her machines, but Frank knows better—one of the voices he hears is Paula.
The book follows Frank's slow recovery from his physical injuries and his battle to save both Paula and the rest of his family. The doctors dismiss his clams as the wild ramblings of a man with brain damage. Neither his father nor girlfriend believes him either.
Only his imagined, elusive friend, Shadow-man believes. But is Shadow-man real? And if so, is he there to help or harm?


BUY LINKS:  This novel is only available as a pre-order through my publisher Britain’s Next Bestseller:


Britain’s Next Bestseller is a crowd-funded publisher. To earn a publishing deal, I need to sell 250 pre-orders of the Transition of Johnny Swift at £8.99 per copy, by 22nd June 2014.


To sweeten the pot, I will send an e-version (Kindle or PDF) of my crime thriller novel, THE DCI JONES CASEBOOK: ELLIS FLYNN, to anyone placing a pre-order for THE TRANSITION OF JOHNNY SWIFT.


AUTHOR BIO:
Kerry J Donovan was born in Dublin, long before the time of mobile phones and twenty-four-hour television. He spent most of his life in the UK, and now lives in Brittany with his darling wife of thirty-seven years. He has three children and three grandchildren, all of whom live in England. An absentee granddad, Kerry has grown to love video calling.


Kerry earned a First Class honours degree in Human Biology, and has a PhD in Sport and Exercise Sciences. A former scientific advisor to The Office of the Deputy Prime Minister, Kerry helped UK emergency first-responders prepare for chemical attacks in the wake of 9/11. This background adds a scientific edge to all his writing.


He currently earns a living as a furniture designer/maker and writer. He is a regular contributor to UK-based hobby magazines, and writes the occasional short story for online magazines, including Gore!, which he also guest edits.


Kerry published a novelette, The DCI Jones Casebook: Raymond Francis Collins, in May 2013, and the second Casebook installment, Ellis Flynn, in November 2013. Both are available in e-versions, and you can buy Ellis Flynn in paperback.


AUTHOR CONTACT LINK:



TOUR GIVEAWAY DETAILS:  
GRAND PRIZE:
£20 Amazon gift voucher and a signed paperback copy of my crime thriller novel, The DCI Jones Casebook: Ellis Flynn (UK, US, AU, NZ only). Also,a n e-copy (.mobi or .pdf) of my novelette, The DCI Jones Casebook: Raymond Francis Collins.

RUNNERS UP:  
Two runners-up to receive a £10 Amazon gift voucher, plus e-versions of my two DCI Jones Casebooks—Raymond Francis Collins, and Ellis Flynn.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, May 13, 2014

Giveaway & Series Spotlight - Tiffany Allee's DON'T BLACKMAIL THE VAMPIRE



DON'T BLACKMAIL THE VAMPIRE
A Sons of Kane Novel, Book Two
Genre:  Light Paranormal Romance
Print Length: 156 pages
Publisher: Entangled: Covet
Publication Date:  April 28, 2014
ASIN: B00JI0KDXM


Rachel Davis will do anything to get her sister out of a bad relationship with her fiancé. Even if it involves a few fibs, a little breaking-and-entering, and blackmailing the fiancé's potential boss, Charles, for his help. So what if the handsome Charles happens to be a vampire?
 
Charles Wright has found the perfect way to trap the man threatening his brother's wife: cozy up to him, get invited along on the skiing trip, and then search for incriminating evidence. How much better that audacious but gorgeous Rachel is just as eager to nail the bastard. As far as he's concerned, there's nothing wrong with a little blackmail between two consenting adults. Especially when it's time for Rachel to pay up.












DON’T BITE THE BRIDESMAID
A Sons of Kane Novel, Book One
Genre:  Light Paranormal Romance
Publisher: Entangled Publishing (Covet)
Length: Novel
Release Date: May 27, 2013


Alice Shepard needs one thing: a date for her sister’s wedding. And not just any date. A hunk who will make her fiancé rue the day he left her for her best friend. Her drop-dead gorgeous neighbor fits the bill—even if he is a bit quirky and never comes out during the day—and Alice has downed just enough appletinis to ask him. But she makes it quite clear that there will be no funny business.


Spending a week on a cruise ship full of humans while sleeping close to his sexy next-door neighbor sounds like a helluva bad idea to vampire Noah Thorpe. But his friends need time to get him out of a shotgun wedding—a vampire bonding that will tie his fate to a female vampire he’s never met. And Alice’s offer comes at just the right time.
What could possibly go wrong?












About Tiffany:
CPA-turned-romance-author Tiffany Allee used to battle spreadsheets in Corporate America, and now concentrates on her characters’ battles to find love. Raised in small-town Colorado, Tiffany currently lives in Phoenix, AZ, by way of Chicago and Denver. She is happily married to a secret romantic who tolerates her crazy mutterings.


She writes about ass-kicking heroines and the strong heroes who love them. Her work includes the suspense-driven From the Files of the Otherworlder Enforcement Agency series which revolves around a group of paranormal cops solving crimes and finding love, and Don’t Bite the Bridesmaid, a lighthearted paranormal romance (Entangled Publishing).


Tiffany has an MBA in accounting and nearly a decade of experience in corporate finance. All super useful stuff for a writer who spends far too much time trying to figure out fun ways to keep her characters apart, and interesting ways to kill people (for her books—of course!).

Connect with Tiffany:



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Guest Post and Giveaway - Mind Games by Christine Amsden

~~~ Guest Post by Christine Amsden ~~~
Learning to Listen

I love audiobooks. At the end of the day when my eyes are tired and I want to lie in bed with a good book, audiobooks let me rest my eyes and relax my body in ways that don't involve juggling a paperback (or even an ereader). I can close my eyes, sink into the mattress, and embrace a story that is as complete as the written form. (Audiobook listeners these days wouldn't stand for abridgement!)

I know I'm biased. I'm visually impaired so for me learning to love audiobooks was a necessity. It was start listening or stop reading – I did choose the latter during college (I was too busy with textbooks anyway) but after I graduated I learned to listen.

The one thing many audiobook naysayers don't realize about listening to a story is that it's a learned skill. Teachers (appropriately) spend years teaching children to read text and retain information with their eyes. We're programmed to gleam information that way, and it's a great method. Really. But it's not the only method.

The first few times I listened to an audiobook I hated it. The readers didn't put the emphasis on the right words. It was a pain to go back and “reread” something I missed later on. I couldn't skim through the bits I used to brush past (like long paragraphs of description). In short, I couldn't use all the reading strategies and skills I had fallen back on my entire life.

But gradually, and in my case due to necessity (I became legally blind at the age of 18), I retained more information from each story. In fact, because I was forced to read every word at a measured pace, I often read a more complete version of the story than I ever did with text. (Yes, that's my impatient personality talking, but there it is.)
I now love audiobooks so much that I'm having my Cassie Scot series recorded and put up on audible. The first two books are already available. Mind Games, which was just released as an ebook on April 15, will be recorded and uploaded in the next few months.
To tell you the truth, it's a little scary listening to my own books read back to me by a narrator. I hear the words in my head a certain way and they don't seem quite the same when they come back at me! But I'm proud to have my books available in audio format for readers who now how to listen.

Mind Games (Cassie Scot Book 3)

Beware your heart and soul…

Evan broke Cassie’s heart two months ago, and she still doesn’t know why. She throws herself into family, friends and her new job at the sheriff’s department, but nothing helps. The only thing that finally allows her heal and move on is the love of a new man, mind mage Matthew Blair. Cassie finds him…irresistible.

Matthew may also be the only one who can help keep the non-magical residents of Eagle Rock from going crazy over the murder of a beloved pastor’s wife. It looks like a sorcerer is to blame, but while Cassie tries to figure out who, others take matters into their own hands. With tensions running so hot, a single spark might set Eagle Rock ablaze.

First Chapter: http://christineamsden.com/wordpress/?page_id=3118  (Warning: Contains series spoilers. New readers to the series would be better off checking out the preview of book one below.)

Buy Links


In case you have trouble with the hyperlinkes:




Other titles in this series:

Cassie Scot: ParaNormal Detective

Cassie Scot is the ungifted daughter of powerful sorcerers, born between worlds but belonging to neither. At 21, all she wants is to find a place for herself, but earning a living as a private investigator in the shadow of her family’s reputation isn’t easy. When she is pulled into a paranormal investigation, and tempted by a powerful and handsome sorcerer, she will have to decide where she truly belongs.


Buy Links for Cassie Scot: ParaNormal Detecitve


In case you have trouble with the hyperlinkes:



Audible (audiobook): http://www.audible.com/pd/Mysteries-Thrillers/Cassie-Scot-Audiobook/B00FA89FZ8/ref=sr_1_1?qid=1379697202&sr=1-1

Secrets and Lies (Cassie Scot Book 2)

Cassie Scot, still stinging from her parents’ betrayal, wants out of the magical world. But it isn’t letting her go. Her family is falling apart and despite everything, it looks like she may be the only one who can save them.
To complicate matters, Cassie owes Evan her life, making it difficult for her to deny him anything he really wants. And he wants her. Sparks fly when they team up to find two girls missing from summer camp, but long-buried secrets may ruin their hopes for happiness.

Buy Links for Secrets and Lies (Cassie Scot Book 2)

In case you have trouble with the hyperlinkes:




Author Bio

Christine Amsden has been writing fantasy and science fiction for as long as she can remember. She loves to write and it is her dream that others will be inspired by this love and by her stories. Speculative fiction is fun, magical, and imaginative but great speculative fiction is about real people defining themselves through extraordinary situations. Christine writes primarily about people and relationships, and it is in this way that she strives to make science fiction and fantasy meaningful for everyone.

At the age of 16, Christine was diagnosed with Stargardt’s Disease, a condition that effects the retina and causes a loss of central vision. She is now legally blind, but has not let this slow her down or get in the way of her dreams.

In addition to writing, Christine teaches workshops on writing at Savvy Authors. She also does some freelance editing work.

Christine currently lives in the Kansas City area with her husband, Austin, who has been her biggest fan and the key to her success. They have two beautiful children.

Social Media Links:


In case you have trouble with the hyperlinks:

Web site: http://christineamsden.com/wordpress/
Newsletter: https://tinyletter.com/christineamsden
Blog: http://christineamsden.com/wordpress/?page_id=200
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Christine-Amsden-Author-Page/127673027288664?ref=hl
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ChristineAmsden
Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/117845642477854934607/posts
Goodreads: ttp://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1030664.Christine_Amsden
Praise for the Cassie Scot Series

From Publisher’s Weekly:

“Amsden continues the story of the only mundane member of a supernaturally-gifted family in this middling sequel to Cassie Scot: ParaNormal Detective. Cassie, stubborn and proud, is bravely trying to live on her own after her family disowns her. Struggling to make ends meet, she accepts a case involving a pair of magical girls who disappeared from summer camp. With the aid of the handsome Evan Blackwood, to whom Cassie is attracted despite her family’s disapproval and her own better judgment, she follows the trail of the missing girls. What she finds is a dark side of the magical world, and the hidden depths of her family’s past force her to reconsider long-held assumptions. The growing complexity of Cassie’s world makes this an entertaining installment, focusing as much on the will-they, won’t-they romantic chemistry between Cassie and Evan as on the primary mystery. An inconclusive ending is clearly intended to feed into the next volume.”

Kim Falconer, bestselling author of The Spell of Rosette, Quantum Enchantment Series, had this to say:

“When sorcerers call the shots, what’s a girl without powers to do? Get ready for a ripper of a murder mystery full of romance and intrigue, where magic potions bubble, passions spark and vampires are definitely not your friend. Cassie Scot: ParaNormal Detective grabs you by the heart and won’t let go until the very last page. Well written, immersive and unputdownable. This is urban fantasy at its best. More please!”

Book Specifications

Title: Mind Games: a Cassie Scot novel
Author: Christine Amsden
Publisher: Twilight Times Books
Genre: paranormal fantasy
*Print ISBN: 978-1-60619-279-5
   Format: 5.5x8.5 trade paperback; 276 pages; $17.95 USD
*eBook ISBN: 978-1-60619-278-8; $6.50 USD
   Format: ebook in pdf, ePub, Kindle, Mobi, PRC, etc.
Distributors: Amazon Kindle; Apple iBookstore; BN.com Nook; Kobo Books; OmniLit, etc
Release date: April 15, 2014 ebook; June 15, 2014 trade paperback

Rafflecopter Giveaway ($100 Amazon Gift Card)
a Rafflecopter giveaway



*The giveaway begins on April 15, 2014 at midnight and ends on July 16, 2014 at midnight.